Abstract Expressionism and Me

Circus Dance

“It is only when I lose contact with the painting that the result is a mess. Otherwise there is pure harmony, an easy give and take, and the painting comes out well” JACKSON POLLOCK

It all started after being introduced to the film Pollock, produced and directed by Ed Harris.

It did not happen overnight, I didn’t want to be seen as looks like Jackson Pollock, so I experimented with other styles, but never felt quite at home with what I was doing. I was quite expressing myself in ways that I wanted to. This went on for maybe a year or two, but then one day I started to splash around and decided I really liked it, it really made me at ease and that’s when it dawned that this is what I want to paint. I didn’t care any more if I was compared to someone, I knew that what I was doing was from my heart and it was only Jackson who introduced me to his style. I love to paint on large areas and use the drip and splash technique. I painted in acrylic, oil, watercolors, enamel, house paint, floor paint, I used leaves, wood and foil. I painted on walls, canvas, board, cupboards anything that was blank. Here is a great way to practice your hand at drip and splash http://www.jacksonpollock.org/.

People in the Park

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

