Quirky Cornish Cats

I grew up in Cornwall and besides pirates, smuggling, rum, tin mines, and its beautiful coastline Cornwall is famous for its cats.  They are everywhere, and they don’t have a care in the World.  They are probably the fattest, happiest cats you will ever see.

Couch Cats, Ponckle 

Whilst browsing I stumbled upon this website of Ponckle’s gallery in Cornwall, in case you don’t know where that is, it is in South West England the last county before you reach the Atlantic Ocean, anyway I was browsing through the painting and what I discovered was a delightful artist, who I think is called Ponckle.  She or he, I think she has the most wonderful, quirky cat paintings, and as cat lover myself, I really enjoyed looking at them. If you have time take wonder along to the website and have a look yourself.

Below is a painting I did of my cat, Henrie and I have also included some more of Ponckle’s, have fun.

Henrie

3 Ships then a Cat

Pink Window Sill St. Ives

8 Comments

  1. Henrie is quite the psychedelic cat – obviously a siamese, like Ming, my parents-in-law’s siamese who also liked to ride around on the turn-table whenever jazz was being played – a quite discordant but funny musicale.

    Are there palm trees in St Ives? Ponckle has a wish to depict a Mediterranean sea-side or to transport him/self/herself to a more gentle climate. These are wonderful quirky paintings – they owe a slight debt to Dufy and Matisse, maybe? G

  2. Henrie is a British Black Smoke, member of the British Short hair family, Cornwall and Devon have a climate in great Britain that accommodate palm trees

  3. I love your paintings and color choices!

  4. Thank you, only one of them is mine though, the rest are Ponckle’s if thats what you meant

  5. Hello, over the years during my many trips to st Ives, I met Ponckle several times. She was always very happy to chat and talk about her work and about her cats of course.
    Her painting is bright, vibrant and cheerful. It depicts life in st Ives where cats play a big part.
    Her subjects are local cats, including her own, mixed with all the goings on in town.
    Unfortunately its quite some years since I saw Ponckle and I often wonder how she is.
    Wherever you are Ponckle, I wish you well.

  6. Ps to my recent comment…. Yes there are lots of palm trees in west Cornwall, the colour and content of Ponckles paintings quite accurately depict St Ives.
    Why not go there for your next holiday and enjoy a little bit of paradise.

  7. Hi Thanks for the comment. It’s where I grew up, not exactly St. Ives but I grew up near Porthtowan and Perranporth.

  8. Does anyone have any news on Ponckle of St Ives? I haven’t been able to find any up-to-date information on this wonderful artist. Any news welcome. Thanks.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

