An old friend: A bit abstract, a bit expressionism, a bit of sealife

I was having a clean up the other day and I came across one of the paintings I manage to salvage from my move back to England 2 years ago.  It brought back many memories, including all the space I used to have to paint in and that I could actually do paintings of this size.  My dream was always to be able to paint a 20 metre painting one day.  I just love to do things on big surfaces.  I miss those days, my life was so much happier and I left it all behind.  Oh well, nit to dwell on the past, and look to the future and hope it has more to offer.

Anyway this painting put a smile on my face because it was so spontaneous and when I saw it again I thought how bright and shining it was.

I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.  Feel free to comment.  I did some close ups of the special parts. Title of the painting is Sealife Divided, I think I did it around 2004. The mediums are, acrylic, enamel, spray paint, shells, wires and marble.

One thought on “An old friend: A bit abstract, a bit expressionism, a bit of sealife

  1. Mo

    Thank you – I used slides of this painting to tie up a lecture in the use of modern materials and techniques in the art of the last century. I could show both collage elements and the acrylic medium, as well as abstract dribble, hard edge masking and spatter techniques – all in one slide. It made a great conclusion.

Leave a Reply

