LOUISE BOURGEOIS- Birthday

Louise Bourgeois Quotes

Louise Bourgeois created “Maman”, the giant spider currently being assembled outside the National Gallery of Canada. When I went there today, the spider only had five legs, and was hanging from a crane. A second crane was there, presumably, to attach the legs.

* * *

“My childhood has never lost its magic, it has never lost its mystery, and it has never lost its drama.”

“When I was born my father and mother were fighting like cats and dogs. And the country was preparing for war, and my father who wanted a son got me, and my sister had just died. Please let me breathe.”

“For me, sculpture is the body. My body is my sculpture.”

“What interests me is the conquering of the fear, the hiding, the running away from it, facing it, exorcising it, being ashamed of it, and, finally, being afraid of being afraid.”

“My mother was a restorer, she repaired broken things. I don’t do that. I destroy things. I cannot go the straight line. I must destroy, rebuild, destroy again. My rhythm is not the same. My mother moved in a straight line: I go from one extreme to the other.”

“An artist can show things that other people are terrified of expressing.”

“My work disturbs people and nobody wants to be disturbed. They are not fully aware of the effect my work has on them, but they know it is disturbing.”

“In real life, I identify with the victim. . . . In my art, I am the murderer. I feel for the ordeal of the murderer, the man who has to live with his conscience.”

“Sometimes it is necessary to make a confrontation – and I like that.”

“Art is a guarantee of sanity. That is the most important thing I have
said.”

Leave a Reply

